Committee Members

Vice Provost, University Research Committee (URC)

Lanny Liebeskind, PhD
Emory University Vice Provost Strategic Research Initiatives
Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Chemistry

URC Faculty Co-Directors

James Nagy, PhD
Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor and Chair
Department of Mathematics

Tom Clark, PhD
Charles Howard Candler Professor of Political Science
Department of Political Science

Carlos Moreno, PhD
Associate Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine 
Director, Cancer Biology PhD Program

URC 2022-2023 Subcommittee Chairs and Co-Chairs

Arts: Visual and Performing

William Ransom, PhD - Subcommittee Chair
Mary Emerson Professor of Piano
ECAS: Music

Biological and Health Sciences

Guy Benian, MD - Subcommittee Chair
SOM: Pathology and Laboratory

Dr. Roger Deal, PhD-Subcommittee Co-Chair
Associate Professor 
ECAS: Biology 


Michele Schreiber, PhD- Subcommittee Co-Chair 
Associate Professor
ECAS: Film and Media

Steffen Lösel, ThD – Subcommittee Co-Chair 
Associate Professor
Candler School of Theology


Alessandro Veneziani, PhD – Subcommittee Chair
ECAS: Mathematics

Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Shanshuang Yang, PhD - Subcommittee Chair
ECAS: Mathematics

Social Sciences

Ian McCarthy, PhD – Subcommittee Chair 
Associate Professor
ECAS: Economics